Sunday, April 26, 2009

SFWA announces 2008 Nebula Awards® winners

SFWA announces 2008 Nebula Awards® winners

Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America, Inc., has announced the Nebula Awards® winners for 2008.

The Nebula Awards® are voted on, and presented by, active members of SFWA. The awards were announced at the Nebula Awards® Banquet held at the Grand Horizon Room on the University of California-Los Angeles campus the evening of April 25.

2008 Nebula Award Winners

Powers - Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt, Sept. 2007)

The Spacetime Pool - Catherine Asaro (Analog, March 2008)

Pride and Prometheus - John Kessel (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Jan. 2008)

Short Stories
Trophy Wives - Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, Martin H. Greenberg and Kerrie Hughes, eds., DAW Books, January 2008)

WALL-E - Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon. Original story by Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter (Pixar, June 2008)

Andre Norton Award
Flora's Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) - Ysabeau S. Wilce, (Harcourt, Sept. 2008)

Additional Honors
During the ceremonies, Harry Harrison was honored as the next Damon Knight Grand Master, while M.J. Engh was honored as Author Emerita. Joss Whedon was named recipient of the Bradbury Award for excellence in screenwriting and Victoria Strauss was honored with 2009 SFWA Service Award for her work with Writer Beware.

Additionally, SFWA inaugurated the new Solstice Award, bestowed upon individuals who have made a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major, positive difference within the speculative fiction field. Honorees for 2009 were Kate Wilhelm, Martin H. Greenberg and the late Algis Budrys. Singer/songwriter Janis Ian served as toastmistress.

About SFWA
Founded in 1965 by the late Damon Knight, Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America brings together the most successful and daring writers of speculative fiction throughout the world.

Since its inception, SFWA® has grown in numbers and influence until it is now widely recognized as one of the most effective non-profit writers' organizations in existence, boasting a membership of approximately 1,500 science fiction and fantasy writers as well as artists, editors and allied professionals. Each year the organization presents the prestigious Nebula Awards® for the year’s best literary and dramatic works of speculative fiction.

No comments: